Running on gluten-free carbs…

And I will run 500 miles…

This wasn’t the first post I intended to do in this blog…but it’s how it worked out in the end.  It’s the close of an exciting year.

I took up running early in the year, got sidetracked by illness, got back into it, ran my first 5K…followed by many more, ran my first 5 miler, got injured, ran my first half marathon, ran my personal PR, and have just kept on going, even after saying my season was over on Thanksgiving.  There were more races to run, so I entered them.  Thinking, as I am a cold weather wimp, that I would not like running in the cold.  I wouldn’t say it’s my favorite thing to do, but I love going out to races and participating.

I’m not fast enough to win.  You’ll normally find me in the middle of the pack in races.  I’ve won my age group twice this year in small races.  The fact is…I LOVE TO RUN!

It doesn’t get any simpler than that.

This morning, on the eve of the eve of the New Year, I pulled out my Training Log and began to tally up the miles from when I first started keeping track (April 4, 2011 – for those wondering) to today (December 30, 2011), I have run a total of 327.12 miles.

That’s a lot of mileage.

A few days ago, my roommate told me to set a goal for 366 miles (one mile per day…because it is a leap year), for 2012.  I was satisfied with this.  But then a fellow running friend of mine threw it down…to aim for 500 miles in 2012.

So here it is…my pledge to log 500 miles over the course of 2012.

And this blog will hopefully be my place to discuss why I run, where I run, how I do, and just…in general…keep track of the mileage I put down this year.

500 miles.

Best get started…

2 responses

  1. Yep, you got bit hard. 😉

    Figured you’d start a blog eventually. LOL

    I’ll post your link over on my blog, even though it’s a bit dusty at the moment. I hope to remedy that this year.

    Shall we make this a 500-mile challenge…..?

    December 30, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    • That would be so great!! Let’s do it! And thanks for sharing my blog! ((HUGS))

      Going to be a great 2012 on the run!

      December 30, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Leave a Reply

