Running on gluten-free carbs…

My first race of 2012

The big day is tomorrow.

The Frostbite 5K in Louisville, Kentucky will kick off at 9:00 a.m. at Cherokee Park.  And I am really looking forward to it.

First of all, it’s my first race back from the holidays.  I was having one of my best races before Christmas, when my shoelace with the timing chip on it came undone and I had to stop to secure it again.  I came in at a respectable time, but I knew I might have come close or even sat a new PR had it not been for that snafu.

But these things happen for a reason and we live and learn from it.

My training for the Frostbite 5K?  Well, I ran every day in December, as part of the Runner’s World Run Streak and my friend Armand’s own REDD (Run Every Day in December) campaign.  Then the New Year hit and I took two days off.  Which, from my prior post, you know stressed me out beyond belief.  But then I came back, with some short runs to get to 7 miles as of today toward my 500 goal.

And it feels so good.

I don’t care if I set a new PR tomorrow or not (but this course is hilly so I’m betting…not!).  I’m just happy to be hitting the race circuit again.  I’m going to make sure my shoes are laced up tight, my hair is out of my way, and that I’m dressed properly for the weather.  Given that today is a 63 degrees, I’m thinking the “frostbite” part of this race may not be the case.  I’m okay with that.

I’ll be running.

And nothing makes me feel more joy in life than hitting the road with my own two feet.


Leave a Reply

