Running on gluten-free carbs…

The first 50 miles

50 MILES

50 MILES

Back in January, I made a promise:

Log 500 miles over the course of 2012.

Well, today I reached my first milestone, if you will.  Mile marker 50.

50 miles in by January 21st.  That’s not a bad start to the year.  I know with my crazy race schedules I’ll have to cut back on mileage at points, so having 50 in before the first month is even out is amazing.  It felt so great to log the last 4.1 miles I needed to reach 50 this morning.  And I was so damn proud of myself for doing it too.

I admit, getting up sometimes to get in even a mile isn’t always easy.  There are days the last thing I want to do is lace up my shoes and log a run.  But I always feel better after I do it.  And I think it’s that feeling that keeps me going, that makes me put on my running shoes and head out.

Today…I’m 1/10 of the way to my goal.  Damn…it feels good!

And, yes…it totally makes me want to keep going.


2 responses

  1. 50 miles and it’s not even February yet. That is all *sorts* of awesome!!

    Keep it up and you will exceed 500 for the year for sure. 😉

    I did a 5k this weekend, which might put me somewhere between 15-20 for the year so far. Pretty dismal, but I’m just really having a hard time getting the engine started. 😛 Not gonna give up, though…. I still have a half marathon in May I’m already signed up for, so I need to get it in gear toute suite!

    January 22, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    • WOOHOO!! I don’t have another race until 2 weeks from now. I haven’t actually raced since the beginning of the month. That’s so weird for me. I haven’t been dealing with it well, LOL!

      But, I have been getting out to run, and that is the important thing. I also have a half marathon in May so I need to start the mileage bump as train for it…and then cut back as the race gets closer. And then, take time off after the race to recover. So…getting a little extra wiggle room in the mileage count for now is all strategy.

      You’ll get there. I know you will. How did your 5K go, btw?

      January 24, 2012 at 12:27 am

Leave a Reply

