Running on gluten-free carbs…

Free Spirit

The greatest pleasure in life, is doing the things people say we cannot do.
— Walter Bagehot


Spirit of the Marathon

Spirit of the Marathon

Tonight was a night of inspiration.  After a good run 7 mile run this morning, I already feeling fantastic going into the day.  I didn’t do a lot of anything.  A little grocery shopping.  A little reading.  Some laundry.  And I cooked.

But as I sat down to dinner, the movie of the night was one my roommate surprised me with.  It’s a little documentary called “Spirit of the Marathon.”  This film basically captures the story and essence of the legendary 26.2 mile run.  It follows six different stories of runners as they prepare to face the challenge of the Chicago Marathon.  It literally envelops you in their lives, their training, their hardships, the drama that comes with preparation and the race itself.

And what I found in all of this was a huge nudge toward the big race.

A marathon.

I’ve toyed with the thought of running a marathon.  But 26.2 miles seems so dauntingly long.  And seeing as I have many races under my belt, but only one half marathon, I’ve never seriously taken a look at it.  This year, I’m signed up to run in four half marathons and a plethora of different length races throughout my area and states I’ll be traveling to.  But now, a bigger picture lies ahead of me.

Let me declare this now:

I want to run a marathon!

There…I said it and all of you who read this have now heard it.  I’m going to train.  I’m going to find a great place to run my first marathon.  And I’m going to do it.  Not this year.  I’m nowhere near ready, but 2013…that’s my goal.

I have “Spirit of the Marathon” to thank for this.  I got to watch a variety of runners, from elites to your average Joe’s, from newbies to those who have been doing it for years, and see them go through the motions.  And it only made me get excited about running.  I finally have a race coming up, and now I’m super psyched to run it.  Granted, it’s only 4 miles, but it’s me, getting outside with other runners, and hitting the pavement.  I love it.

And what better way to show my love of my sport than to run the ultimate athletic challenge.  I found the stories that this film followed to be inspirational.  I love the way it was laid out and how it showed that running can cause injury, it can keep you from reaching a set goal (one runner wanted to run Chicago to qualify for Boston, but he injured his knee and he no longer could run Chicago), or how runners can break through that wall, despite the pain and strain of 26.2 miles and reach that emotional finish line.

Yeah…I want to be a part of that.

2013…mark my words…I am going to find a marathon and I’m going to run it.  I may not finish in spectacular time and I know I won’t set any records, but I now understand why people run it and I want to throw that challenge at myself and conquer it.  I’m going to do it.  Physically, I know that in a year, I can train and do it right.  And now…I’m more determined than ever to do it.

So, time to start checking those marathon races and seeing which ones I can run in.

Inspiration from a simple film about the earliest sport known to man.  Yeah…I must be a runner.  Because now I know I won’t be complete until I take on 26.2 miles and prove to myself that I can do it.

I can be a marathoner.  I will be a marathoner.

My running spirit has been reignited by watching this film, taking in the stories, watching each one meet challenges and fight to finish.  I want that for myself.  I want to taste it for myself.

If you are a runner, you should see this film.  If you are a non-runner, you will enjoy the film just as much as those who are into the sport.  My roommate was consumed by it and she is currently searching for future marathons that might be a good option for me.  Gotta love encouragement.  Watch the film.  Become inspired.  Let your own marathoner spirit soar!


Leave a Reply

