Running on gluten-free carbs…

100 miles down the road

100 Miles

100 Miles

It happened this morning on a longer-than-usual run for a weekday, thankfully before the hill hit.

100 MILES!

On work days, I usually can squeeze in a speedy 5K and then head into the office.  But I didn’t get a lunch on Monday due to one of my customers, so I have some time to kill.  I was going to do a normal run, and my roommate encouraged me to push on for 4 miles instead.  So, I did.  And it was a great run.

And at mile 2.9, I reached another mile marker in my quest to run 500 miles this year.  I was high fived by my roommate, and I think I threw my arms up in the air in celebration, but pressed on.  I still had 1.1 miles to go on my morning run and I was in the zone now.

So, what does 100 miles mean?  Well, aside from the fact that I’m now 1/5 of the way to my goal of 500 miles for the year I’m just a couple miles short of having run from Louisville, Kentucky to Indianapolis, Indiana.  Yeah.  How cool is that?  100 miles is an Ultramarathon!

But the key now is to remain focused on my training, keep up my good habits, change my bad ones, and not get injured.  This means slower runs, days off and all that, as I have been doing.  But it also means that I’m well on my way to reaching the goal for the year.

100 miles is huge.  If you asked me 10 years ago about what I would be doing in 2012, I never would have said running various races of different lengths, training for 4-5 half marathons, preparing myself for my first marathon in 2013.  Yeah…it never would have crossed my mind.

But my greatest joy in life these days is when I have my running shoes on and I’m out the door.

100 miles.  And only 400 more to go!  I’m so ready!


2 responses

  1. And here you are, only a week and a half into February! If you keep this up, you are going to exceed 1,000 miles this year. 😉 I would think about upping the bar for yourself just a little….since I am assuming you have no real plans to slow down anytime soon!

    Keep up the terrific work – and I sure hope we can race together someday!

    February 8, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    • My friend…we are totally going to race together. And soon. That will be fun!

      February 9, 2012 at 12:33 pm

Leave a Reply

