Running on gluten-free carbs…

Kicking off the Louisville Triple Crown of Running

Anthem 5K Fitness Classic, Louisville, KY

Anthem 5K Fitness Classic, Louisville, KY

You gotta love a city that puts on a series of events in an effort to promote and help more runners and walkers in the area embrace a healthy lifestyle and work towards a goal of completing a three-series race series.  That, in a nutshell, is the Louisville Triple Crown of Running in Louisville, Kentucky.  This annual event takes place in downtown Louisville every year, with three different legs of the series, all of different lengths.  And tomorrow…it kicks off.

The races are the Anthem 5K Fitness Classic, which kicks off the entire series, tomorrow, March 3rd.  March 17th is the Rodes City Run 10K.  And on March 31st, the Papa John’s 10 Miler caps off the series.

I am registered for all three of the races in the series.  This will be my first time running in the Triple Crown and I’m quite excited about it.

Today, Louisville is filled with thunderstorms and severe weather.  Tornado warnings are everywhere.  People are in a panic.  But…I’m playing it cool.  I’m actually not too worried about it.

And tomorrow, with the front moving through, we’re cooling down from our unseasonably mild winter weather to some cooler temperatures.  It will be a good morning for a run.  And I’m really anticipating being a part of this growing event.  Last year, over 8,000 people ran in the Anthem 5K Fitness Classic.  This year, there are more.  And I’m so proud to be one of them!

Then, the next race will be one of two that I am running that day.  The other is part of another racing series (Frankfort Trifecta in Frankfort, KY) that I am participating in.  And at the end of the month, coinciding with a long run for my half marathon training…the 10 mile run.  It’s a good build up for my first (of four) half marathons I am participating in this year.

That being said, I love a big, popular race and I really am looking forward to hitting the streets with local runners, and those who have traveled in to be a part of this.  I’m ready to run.  I’m excited to run.  It’s races like this that make me call myself a runner.

Stay tuned…because I’m sure I’ll have some stories to share from the road.

And for those out there who are participating in this as well…good luck!

But…no running today for me.  Day of rest.  I need strong legs to carry me through what is called a fast, flat course.  Here’s to hoping for some run magic.


Leave a Reply

