Running on gluten-free carbs…

Race #2 of the Louisville Triple Crown and Race #1 of the Frankfort Trifecta

Rodes City Run 10K, Louisville, KY

Rodes City Run 10K, Louisville, KY

Today…is one of my crazy days.

I’m signed up for two races.  This is the second time I have done this in my running career.  So, I think I’ll have some very tired legs tomorrow morning…just in time for my indoor triathlon.  No rest for the runner.  That’s what Friday was for.

That being said, I am up and sitting on the couch, relaxing and getting in a bit of hydration before eating a light breakfast and heading into Louisville for the Rodes City Run 10K, which is the second race in the Louisville Triple Crown of Running.  This sounds like it’s going to be a fantastic and very fun event.

According to the Web site, this race is run on a fast, flat course.  Sweet.  No hills!  In addition, it attracts nearly 10,000 runners and around 20,000 spectators each year.  And this is the 32nd year that it has been run.  It’s going to be a lot of fun to be a part of this tradition this year.  And to think…up until last year, I didn’t even know this series of races existed.  Then again, I only began to seriously run last year so any race was completely off my map unless I was in a city one was happening in and just happened to see runners go by wearing their bib numbers.  That happened in Indianapolis more than it did in Louisville.

So, the plan this morning is to eat a light breakfast, finish getting ready, and then head downtown so we have time to find parking and get situated for the race.  My roommate is coming along and will see me off at the start and then hustle on down to the finish line.  Hopefully I’ll be able to find her afterwards.  There are going to be a LOT of people here.  Me not having my cell phone with me might make it even more of a challenge.  We’ll manage.  After I run, stretch out, and settle a bit, we’re off for brunch at North End Café, because they have a trusted gluten-free menu and I need to make sure I don’t eat something that will make me sick because…

…at 6:30 p.m., I am participating in the first race of the Frankfort Trifecta – the Run for the Gold 3K.  This will be my first 3K race, which is about 1.89 miles.  I’ve run Frankfort often (and every single time on a rainy day…and yes…there is rain in the forecast today), so I’m really looking forward to participating in this series.  Last year I only did the last race in the Trifecta, the Activate America 5 Mile Race, where I ended up with a stress fracture and knee injury that took until August to start feeling better.  This year I’m running smart and healthy and am looking forward to these races.

So, today is going to be a day made for running.  It will total out to about 8 miles total when all is said and done.  Not bad at all.  I’ve been pretty excited about doing these race series and I’m waking up in a fantastic mood this morning.  I didn’t dread getting out of bed.  I got dressed for my morning race and have been sipping on some water and writing up this post since then.  I’m feeling ready to run today, and that has been seriously lacking in my past couple of races.  This…is a good feeling.

So, expect a few race updates this coming week because my weekend doesn’t stop there.  Sunday morning is my indoor (yes, indoor) triathlon…which I’m super nervous about.  Not so much the running and biking…but the swimming part.  So, here’s to a good series of races this weekend.

And please…stay tuned.


Leave a Reply

