Running on gluten-free carbs…

Tri at the Y Indoor Triathlon – Jeffersonville, IN (March 18, 2012)

The happy triathlete after finishing the 3rd Annual Tri at the Y Indoor Triathlon in Jeffersonville, Indiana

The happy triathlete after finishing the 3rd Annual Tri at the Y Indoor Triathlon in Jeffersonville, Indiana

Race: Tri at the Y Indoor Triathlon

Place: Clark County YMCA, Jeffersonville, IN

Date: March 18, 2012

So…I’m a triathlete of sorts.

After a full day of running fun the day prior to this, I decided it would be fun to try my hand at a local triathlon.  Thankfully, however, this one was indoors and would not involve getting into the Ohio River, which I’m still pretty certain if I did, I would emerge a mutant.

That being said, this meant another early morning for me, though not as early as normal on race days.  My start time for the Indoor Triathlon event was 9:40 a.m.  So, I got up in enough time to at least have a good breakfast for energy without eating too late so as to give me cramps or make me feel sick.

I dressed…per instructions of the event…with my bathing suit on under my running clothes.  I ate a couple of scones and had some cereal around 7:00 a.m., giving my body enough time to digest it all.  My roommate hauled herself out of bed soon after that and she ate her breakfast.  Then, the rest of my morning prep and we were heading towards the Clark County YMCA in Jeffersonville, Indiana.

This was my first time at this particular YMCA.  I am always at the Floyd County one, as it is closer to where I live and work.  Let me tell you, the Clark County YMCA is sooooooo little.  It surprised me, really, as I’m used to the big YMCA I go to, where there are three levels.  This one was all ground level and the weights and fitness areas were put together.  The pools were little.  And there were only two lap lanes.  Now I understood why the 2 person heats were taking place.

I signed in and filled out a form before being told to wait and be called back.  My partner was supposed to be the Aquatics Director there at the YMCA, but she was sick.  So, I didn’t have someone to compete against…just myself.  That was enough given the state of my legs after the two races the previous day.

At 9:40 a.m., I was called back to the stationary bike.  Here, I was to pedal away, rack up the miles, and that’s what I attempted to do.  I adjusted the bike seat when I got there, but I think I should have gone down one more notch.  I was still a little higher than I liked, but I had already started.  Whoops.  Ah well, I made the most of it and just pedaled my heart out.  The guy monitoring the bike area was a lot of fun and kept me engaged with some discussion about travel and different places of the world to visit.  Including Japan.  I AM TRYING!!

Immediately after finishing the bike portion, I was sent over to the treadmills.  Here, I was told just to hit start.  These treadmills are so ancient compared to the high-tech ones at my YMCA.  So it took me a moment to get the speed adjusted, but I got it.  And I had to keep adjusting it because my legs were screaming at me.  But, I ran and ran and ran, because this is what I do.  And when I was done with that part, I went to change out of my clothes and head into the pool area for the last portion of the triathlon…the swim.

I had been dreading the swim.  My legs were tired.  I was tired.  And, while I love swimming, I’m not the strongest of swimmers.  Sometimes my roommate and I would go to the Y and we’d swim laps and I was tired after two lengths.  So, this was going to be my biggest challenge.  I got into the pool and away I went.  Yep…I was tired.  I took it slow and just paced myself as best I could.  I knew this would be, for lack of a better term, where I would flounder in the events of the triathlon.  But I got through it, and vowed that I would work more on my swimming because, damn, it kicked my ass.

With that done, I headed into the locker room to change, completely pleased that I had just competed in my first triathlon.  It was a lot of fun, but I am a long way away from being ready to do another one.  I’ll get there.  Now that I know what to expect, I can work on the areas I need to improve on.  And, maybe next time…I’ll take it outdoors.

However, this was a well-run, very fun event.  An Indoor Triathlon is a great idea for this area, especially in March.  Albeit, we’ve had a mild winter and it was 80 degrees that day, but it was a great way to be introduced to the concept of the triathlon.  Would I do another one?  Sure.  But only once I’ve trained properly for it.  Guess this means getting in the pool a little more often and working on my laps.

So, the results for the Tri at the Y were that I placed 7th in the bike portion, 3rd in the running portion, and 7th in the swimming portion.  Whew.  You know what?  That’s not bad for someone who ran two races the day prior and had never done a triathlon before.  I’m quite proud of myself and really understand what I need to do to prepare for the next time I decide to do three events in one race.  Triathlons are a lot of hard work, a lot of muscle power, a lot of willpower…but a lot of fun.

Maybe there is another one out there for me in the future…


5 responses

  1. Very neat to hear about an indoor triathlon. I’m sure we have these up in Canada, but I’ve yet to see one.

    Keep up the great work!

    March 23, 2012 at 10:40 am

    • Thank you!! I would think that if Indiana has indoor triathlons, Canada would! Maybe you’ll stumble across one. Thank you for the encouragement!

      March 23, 2012 at 11:49 am

  2. good stuff

    March 23, 2012 at 12:18 pm

  3. Great Job!!!

    March 23, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Leave a Reply

