Running on gluten-free carbs…

300 miles of road behind me

300 MILES!

300 MILES!

It feels like just the other day I was touting my accomplishment of hitting the halfway mark to my goal of 500 miles this year.  It seems that the mileage ramp-up to my first half marathon has been inching me further and further up the mileage chart.

It only seems fitting then that I struck my 300 mile mark during my long run on Sunday morning.  In fact, I hit 300 miles in mile 6 of my long run.  I just wasn’t aware of it at the time.  I was focusing on my breathing, my footfall, and taking it easy on a tight, sore Achilles tendon that has been giving me some grief over the past week.

It’s the middle of April and in a couple of weeks the taper starts as the OneAmerica 500 Festival Mini-Marathon will be kicking off.  It’s the largest mini-marathon in the United States and it runs up in Indianapolis.  I am thrilled to be a part of it.  I’ve trained hard for this race.  I’m still working on proper fueling on long runs, but I’m getting the endurance part down.  I think I’ll do better here than in Chicago, where I ran my first half marathon last September, completely untrained and completely lacking the knowledge of how to properly fuel and prepare for 13.1 miles of constant running.

This is my hope anyway.

A lot of my ability to work toward my mileage goal for the year just happens to be a direct result of my half marathon training.  I honestly hope it pays off in the end.

That being said, I’m still looking ahead.  Any one thing can derail a streak like this.  And while you try not to dwell on it, accidents happen.  Injuries happen.  I hope that I can continue to run safe and smart.

300 miles down…200 more to go.  Every mile closer feels so good!


Leave a Reply

