Running on gluten-free carbs…

Hitting 350 miles

350 MILES!!!

350 MILES!!!

I’ve put a lot of time, energy, strength, sweat, tears, and bruises into my half marathon training.  I’ve continued to run races around the area and…in Colorado (because I am crazy!)…while maintaining my training program and keeping up with the mileage that is required on certain days.  And I have had a blast doing it.

Well, today was my last long run before I kick off my first (of four, so far) half marathon of the year.  I’m totally excited to be doing another half marathon.  This will only be the second one that I have run, but I have trained smart for it…really listened to my body…and have found my runs improving.  It makes me feel really good.

But today, something else happened on my last long run.  Well, I discovered my water bottle was leaking…but that’s beside the point.  As I rounded up my 10 mile run today, after an easy 5 miles followed by the last 5 miles with hills (I’m apparently a masochist when it comes to my training runs), I hit the 350 mile mark on my journey to run 500 miles this year.  I couldn’t be more proud of this achievement either.  This hasn’t been an easy road.  I’ve even had to run on a sore Achilles tendon (I slowed down and didn’t push it on hills or for speed).  I’ve worried about injuries, endured minor ones, one major one, and kept on going despite it.  Why?  Because I have a half marathon next weekend and I want to be ready for it.

When I ran my first half marathon last year in Chicago, I wasn’t prepared for it.  I was straight off of a stress fracture to my foot and horrible runner’s knee in my right knee.  Training wasn’t an option…I could barely run a mile on a treadmill at a slow speed.  So, it was a miracle I finished.  I didn’t eat right for it.  I didn’t train.  And yet…I got to that finish line in a respectable time.

My goal…to only improve on that.

So, having 350 miles behind me already feels great.  I feel great.  I couldn’t be more excited about hitting the road in Indianapolis next Saturday for the OneAmerica 500 Festival Mini Marathon.  I think it will be a good race. I think I will run a good race.  And, I have 350 miles of training to thank for that.

Only 150 more to go.  Looks like I might have to increase my goal for the year.

And that, my dearest friends, is how you can tell that I run for the love of it.  I don’t make myself go out and run.  I willingly go and put in the miles.  It makes me feel better about life when I do it because I run because I love to run.  And there is no better reason to run than because you love it.  If you don’t love doing it…you’ll stop doing it.  And I hope to be doing this for a very long time.


Leave a Reply

