Running on gluten-free carbs…

400 miles later…

400 MILES!!!

400 MILES!!!

Yep…you read that right.  I am 100 miles away from my goal for the year.

400 miles!

I can’t believe how quickly these miles have just ticked off.  There hasn’t been a day where I thought…”I just don’t want to run today.”  I’ve been very diligent about following my half marathon training schedule.  I’ve lightened up runs when my body has suggested it might be the best option to do so.  I’ve run hard on hills, pushed myself in races, and sometimes have just had to stop and catch my breath for a moment.

But this is the life of a road runner.

And 500 miles is creeping up fast.  The goal is going to have to be expanded.  I don’t know what I’ll strive for in the end.  Perhaps I’ll just add another 100 miles…and see what comes from it.  Or perhaps I’ll add another 500 to the count.  I just don’t know.  It’s something to think about.  The fact of the matter is, on Monday evening, upon arriving late to my group fun run and having to set out on my own…I hit that 400 mile mark.

I didn’t even realize it at the time, but it happened.  Probably somewhere when my paced slowed to a crawl as I hit the hardest hill in Cherokee Park over in Louisville, Kentucky.  One day I will conquer that hill without feeling like I’ve just pushed myself up a mountain.  With each run, with each session at the gym, I am getting stronger.  I can feel it in my running.  I can feel it every day.

But this is where it stands today…over 400 miles of road covered and quite a bit more already planned as far as future races go.

I’m not burned out on it at all.  I crave more of it.  And that, my friends, is only a good thing.

Last 100 miles.  Let’s make them count!


Leave a Reply

