Running on gluten-free carbs…

Will run for chocolate…

Hershey Half Marathon

Hershey Half Marathon

I’m going to be the first to admit it…I never thought I’d be running in the Hershey Half Marathon up in Hershey, Pennsylvania.  In fact, it wasn’t even on my radar until it came up as a food challenge on my roommate’s calendar of food challenges.  She mentioned that runners receive a chocolate bar at Mile 12.  That was enough to convince me to at least look into it.

Well, this race is a pretty big deal, it seems.  In fact, this race tends to sell out…quickly.  No joke.  And this year is no different.  The race is sold out!

I’m really excited to be running in this half marathon.  While destination races always put me on edge with nerves, logistics, planning, and all of that…I’ve been really excited about heading to Hershey.  I’ve been running better than I have in a long time.  And this will be a good race to do after the near catastrophic Indianapolis Women’s Half Marathon where I literally felt like I was going to die at the end of it.

The weather is supposed to be perfect this weekend…and especially on race day.  A little chilly in the morning…somewhere around 43 degrees…but I tend to warm up fast.  The high on Sunday is 60 degrees.  Like I said…perfect weather.  The 13.1 mile course winds through Hershey Park, out and around town, and finishes back at Hershey Park Stadium.  There is plenty to see along the way.

While the video I watched of the course seems relatively flat, last night I was reading some blogs of people who ran it previously…and it seems they say it is rather hilly.  So, I guess it is a very good thing I often run hilly routes.  Good training.

Accompanying me on this venture are my two loudest fans, Jenn and Cathy.  They will be hanging at Hershey to see me off and then see me through the finish line.  Yeah…I’m really feeling good about running in this race.  Honestly.  When my training runs have gone so well, it’s hard not to feel good about it.

But now…after putting it off all week and all morning, I need to get everything packed up.  Around noon today I am heading to Columbus, Ohio, where I’m crashing with Jenn for the night and then we are all off to Hershey early in the morning.  I need to make it to packet pick-up before it closes at 5 p.m. on Saturday…so that leaves only a minute amount of wiggle room on the 7 hour drive from Columbus.  We’ll get it sorted.  I’ll just do my best not to wind myself up and focus on the important thing…

Having a great race.

Wish me luck.  And I’ll definitely attempt to keep my chocolate consumption down until after the race.  But I make no promises…


Leave a Reply

