Running on gluten-free carbs…

New Year, New Goal

GOAL: 1300 miles in 2013!

GOAL: 1300 miles in 2013!

Well…about this time last year I set what I thought was a lofty goal for 2012…to run 500 miles.  And I had that in the books by the middle of the year.  I had a silent goal to, perhaps, make 1200 miles in 2012, but with the injury that took me out of running for 2 weeks, it doesn’t look like I’ll make it.  I’ll be off by…just under 100  miles.  It kind of makes me sad, but it sure did make setting a goal for 2013 easier than anticipated.

And here it is:

In 2013, I intend to run 1300 miles.

There…I said it…and all of you are witnesses.

I think this is a little lofty…but I am hopefully going to be training for my first marathon…so mileage will be increasing at the start of the year when I put my training program into my phone and begin really looking ahead to the goal of going 26.2 miles this year.  I am nervous…and excited all at once.  And I love it.

I am also setting another goal…and that is to run 2013 injury free.  This one may or may not come into fruition.  I mean, accidents happen.  Injuries happen.  But I’m going to really focus on being a healthier, better runner.  I’m going to make better choices when it comes to my runs and really listen to my body.  I want to make this racing season a great one, with no DNS’ (Did Not Start) statuses and I hope to maintain my record of never having a DNF (Did Not Finish).

When all is said and done…goals are good to set…but the key to my running successes…the reason I can do this in brutal heat and bone-chilling cold…is that I truly love it.  So, above all else, I hope that 2013 teaches me how to love this sport even more than I do.  I have a good feeling that this is going to be a good year.


Leave a Reply

